Entertainment and Events

Lionel Messi win FIFA Best Player Awards for 2023

Lionel Messi, the talented forward from Argentina, has once again proven his dominance in the world of football by winning the prestigious men’s player of the year award at the Fifa Best Awards. The event, held in London, also saw Pep Guardiola, the esteemed manager of Manchester City, claim the men’s coach prize.

In a closely contested battle, Messi managed to edge out the impressive Erling Haaland, who plays as a striker for Manchester City, with Kylian Mbappe, the skillful attacker from Paris St-Germain, securing the third spot. It was a testament to Messi’s exceptional skills and contributions to the sport.

The goalkeeper award was deservedly claimed by Ederson, the talented shot-stopper from Manchester City. He outshone the likes of Thibaut Courtois from Real Madrid and Yassine Bounou from Al Hilal. This recognition was well-deserved, considering Manchester City’s remarkable achievement of winning the Treble, which included the Premier League, Champions League, and FA Cup titles in the 2022-23 season.

It’s important to note that the Fifa Best Awards differ from the Ballon d’Or awards, which focus on performances throughout a season. Messi, a true legend of the game, has previously won the Ballon d’Or on eight occasions, showcasing his consistent brilliance.

This year’s Fifa Best Awards and Puskas Award were judged based on performances from 19 December 2022 to 20 August 2023, as the Qatar World Cup was included in last year’s ceremony. The event, held at the iconic Hammersmith Apollo in London, was graced by the presence of numerous legendary players, both past and present, making it a truly memorable occasion.

In the prestigious men’s team of the year, Manchester City dominated with six of their exceptional players making the cut. The defensive trio of John Stones, Kyle Walker, and Ruben Dias showcased their brilliance, while midfield maestros Bernardo Silva and Kevin de Bruyne added their creative flair. Not to be forgotten, the striking sensation Haaland proved his worth on the field. However, amidst this City-dominated lineup, one English player stood out from the rest. Jude Bellingham, the talented midfielder from Real Madrid and England, was the sole representative who does not don the City colors. This remarkable selection speaks volumes about his skills and contribution to the game. Alongside these remarkable players, the team also features other football luminaries from renowned clubs around the world.

Sarina Wiegman, the recipient of the best women’s coach award for the second year in a row, expressed her gratitude and humility for being recognized once again. She acknowledged the immense support from everyone involved in England’s remarkable performances, including the players who transitioned from the Euros and the Finalissima to the World Cup. Despite facing numerous challenges along the way, Wiegman commended the team for their exceptional achievements.

During the awards ceremony, other deserving individuals were also honored. Marta Vieira da Silva, widely known as Marta, received a lifetime achievement award, while a new accolade for the best goal in women’s football was named after the Brazilian legend.

In the men’s category, Guilherme Madruga’s remarkable 25-yard overhead kick for Botafogo was crowned as the best goal. Additionally, the title of the best supporter went to Hugo Iniguez, a devoted Colon de Santa Fe fan and father. In a heartwarming moment, Iniguez was captured on camera bottle-feeding his son in the stands. Both father and son traveled to London to accept the award, although the little one couldn’t hold back his tears and was soon comforted by his mother.

The winners of the FIFA Best Player award were determined through a combination of votes from various sources. National team managers, captains, journalists, and fans all had a say in the final decision, with each group’s votes carrying equal weight of 25%. Interestingly, both Messi and Haaland ended up with the same number of points. However, Messi ultimately claimed the award because he had received more first-place nominations from national team captains.

Among those who voted for Messi were some notable names like Harry Kane, Mbappe, Mohamed Salah, Andy Robertson, Aaron Ramsey, and Luka Modric. On the other hand, Ilkay Gundogan and Casemiro, along with Messi himself, voted for Haaland. It’s worth mentioning that England’s Gareth Southgate supported Haaland with his vote, while Robert Page from Wales and Steve Clarke from Scotland sided with Messi.

In a surprising twist, Montserrat’s captain Lyle Taylor chose Arsenal midfielder Declan Rice, Russia’s captain Georgi Dzhikiya voted for Georgia, and Napoli winger Khvicha Kvaratskhelia and Portugal’s boss Roberto Martinez supported ex-Inter Milan midfielder Marcelo Brozovic, who currently plays for Al Nassr in Saudi Arabia.

Leave a Reply