Apply Now for the AKO Caine Prize Award for African Writing (£10,000 Cash Prize)

The AKO Caine Prize Award for African Writing is a yearly literary honor given to an African author of a short story that has been published. The five writers who made the shortlist will also get a £10,000 prize as well as invitations to a number of events in London, including public readings, media interviews, a private event with agents, and the award ceremony in 2023, where the winner will be announced.

The story submitted must have been released within the five years prior to the deadline for entries. The judges will only take into account material published between 1 February 2018 and 25 January 2023 for 2023 eligibility.

The Entry Requirements include:

  • Entries must be at least 3,000 words long but not more than 10,000.
  • Publishers are required to submit entries. This covers book publishers, both physical and digital, as well as literary periodicals, magazines, and websites dedicated to the literary arts.
  • The age of the authors at the time of submission must be at least 18.
  • Unpublished and independently published works are ineligible.
  • As long as they don’t submit more than one tale by a single author, publishers are encouraged to submit several short stories.
  • Only one submission of a story may be made for the AKO Caine Prize. Unfortunately, this implies that even if your tale wasn’t chosen for the shortlist, you cannot submit it again for consideration.
  • The following genres are excluded from entry: children’s stories, nonfiction, academic articles, plays, poetry, and autobiography/biography.
  • Submissions must include the author’s nationality as well as the word count of the short tale.
  • A “publisher’s letter” must be uploaded by publishers with each submission. For more details, see below:
  • The publisher’s letter should include the following information? 
    • The writer(s) name.
    • Titles of the story being submitted.
    • Word count of each story submitted.
    • The qualifying nationality of the writer(s)
    • The date the story was published. 
    • Consent confirmation from the writer(s)
See also  MCN Millennium Oceans Prize 2021 ($5,000 prize)

For More Information and to apply Visit the Official Webpage of the AKO Caine Prize 2023 for African Writing

Leave a Reply

Send in Your Business News to BusinessTrumpet News!