Entertainment and Events

COSON Week 2015 begins on Sunday November 1

THE much publicised 2015 COSON Week is finally set to begin on Sunday over seven different venues in Lagos. Promising Lagosians a spectacular event, COSON Chairman, Chief Tony Okoroji, said, “Tell everybody that we are ready to keep our promise. We have burnt the midnight oil and for the seven days, all systems are ready to go.”

The week starts on Sunday November 1 at the KICC Prayer Dome in Maryland, Lagos. Nigeria’s most celebrated gospel singers and some ministers of the gospel in the country are expected to grace the event. Among the many stars expected to thrill the audience are Buchi, Chidinma, Asu Ekiye, Frank Edwards and Princess Ann Inyang.  The show will be anchored by Victor Oladokun who is famous for presenting ‘Turning Point’.

On Monday, Prof Bankole Sodipo, founding President, Intellectual Property Law Association of Nigeria (IPLAN), will deliver the COSON Lecture on the topic, Intellectual Property Rights in the Digital Economy, at the Banquet Hall, Lagos Sheraton Hotel Ikeja. Afterwards, the masked singer, Lagbaja, Hon Desmond Elliot, Mr. Audu Maikori, President Chocolate City Group and Mr. Raymond Mgbeokwere, Head, Legal Services, First Bank Plc, will discuss the subject.  The Lecture will be chaired by the IT guru and business mogul, Chief Leo Stan Ekeh.

A major highlight of the lecture will be the presentation of the Copyright Grand Medal to the nation’s elder statesman and unsurpassed legal luminary, Prince Bola Ajibola.

The next day, COSON goes to the streets as stars clean the streets, control traffic and give alms to the needy with a party on the move over the streets of Lagos.  The event will be flagged off at 10am at the National Theatre, Iganmu. The train will have top music stars and will take Eko Bridge, pass through the Marina and will be seen by fans in Ikoyi, Victoria Island, Lekki and Ajah.

On Wednesday is the COSON Green Ball with support of COSON Music Foundation which holds at Shell Hall, Muson Centre, Onikan. The event which kicks off by 6:30pm will be chaired by Senator (Princess) Florence Ita-Giwa. On Thursday, selected stars such as MC Galaxy, Akpororo, Timi Dakolo, Reekardo Banks, Skales, Emeka Smith, D’Lyte, Jaywon, Masterkraft, CDQ, Dipp, Kas, Tekno, Konga, Righteosman and YQ amongst others would duel on the table tennis table for the COSON All Stars Table Tennis Blow-Out. The venue is the Multipurpose Hall of Teslim Balogun Stadium, Surulere. And the time is 11am.

On Friday is the COSON Song Awards. Top nominees for the awards include Kiss Daniel, Jude, Peter & Paul Okoye ( P-Square), Davido, Omawummi, Orezi, Cobhams, Timi Dakolo, Asa, Dare Art Alade, Sheyi Shay, Tiwa Savage, Di’ Ja and others.

Leave a Reply