Entries Now Open: Aurora Tech Awards for Women in Tech

The Aurora Tech Awards for women in tech which debuted in 2020, are a global yearly celebration of women founders of IT firms who are breaking barriers and destroying preconceptions in the tech world. The Aurora Tech Awards is pleased to announce that submissions for the 2024 Aurora Tech Awards are currently being accepted.

During the 2023 Aurora Tech Award, a significant shift in Africa’s technological landscape was plainly visible. A considerable number of nominees emphasized the accomplishments of African women in IT from Ghana, Nigeria, Kenya, and Uganda, all of whom lead IT firms that have provided enormous value to their communities.

These forward-thinking women not only used technology to bridge the gap between communities and important educational, health, and financial services, but they also enthusiastically encouraged fellow entrepreneurs in their endeavors. Elizabeth Mwangi of Kenya and her firm, Gwiji for Women, which connects cleaners living in Nairobi’s slums with their clients, earned the 2023 prize.

The purpose of the award is threefold: to celebrate the achievements of women in IT entrepreneurship, to provide them with the resources they deserve in the form of big financial prizes, and to demolish the very gender preconceptions that have long limited the industry.

“In a tech world still grappling with gender disparities, awards like the Aurora Tech Award serve as change agents.” Our accolade empowers women by breaking down obstacles and empowering young people. Previous winners’ favorable feedback confirms the transforming influence. As applications stream in from around the world, we’re delighted to highlight individuals who are making a difference in their communities and serving as role models. We imagine a future in which gender no longer limits potential. “This award is more than just a recognition; it is a step toward a more inclusive and innovative future,” says Ekaterina Smirnova, executive director of the Aurora Tech Award.

The Aurora Tech Award symbolizes a future in which innovation recognizes no gender and women’s potential is unrestricted. It’s not just about shattering glass ceilings; it’s about creating an industry that demonstrates the capabilities of all people, regardless of gender.

The application must meet the following criteria:

  • 1. Women founder. The startup must be founded or co-founded and led by a woman entrepreneur
  • 2. Funding stage. The startup should not have received investments exceeding $4 million in funding, including the seed round
  • 3. Operation time. The startup must be no more than 5 years old
  • 4. Minimum viable product (MVP). The startup should have a functional prototype. If you have only an idea, your application will not be considered.
  • Applications can be submitted via the award’s website at www.AuroraTechAward.com/

Dates and deadlines

Entries should be submitted between September 5 and December 1, 2023
Finalist announcement date: Jan. 31, 2024
Final assessments and announcement of winners: Mar. 8, 2024

The panel of judges will include prominent female IT entrepreneurs, the winners of last year’s Aurora Tech Award, and key industry experts.

The prizes will be awarded as follows:
First prize: $30,000
Second prize: $20,000
Third prize: $10,000

There will be only one winner in each category, and the prize can go to a participant from any of the participating countries. The entrepreneurs will also have access to the inDriver mentorship program in addition to the incentives.

Leave a Reply